GILLIAN SZE

about me   tidings   works   dialogues   correspond





Other editions forthcoming:

  • Hebrew. Tchelet.
  • Turkish. Okuyan Us Publishing.
  • French (Canada). Scholastic Canada.
  • My Love for You Is Always

    FORTHCOMING SEPT. 2021
    9780593203071 | Picture book
    Illustrated by Michelle Lee
    Published by Philomel Books (Penguin USA)

    Warm like tea? Sweeter than red dates? A mother shares her love for her child as the two prepare a delicious meal together--perfect for fans of Guess How Much I Love You, Wherever You Are My Love Will Find You, and Mama, Do You Love Me?

    What is love? a child wonders. What does it feel like, smell like, taste like? How does it move? How long does it last?

    And as she prepares a traditional Chinese meal for her family, the child's mother replies: her love for him is rosy as wolfberries, warm like tea, sweeter than the red dates she puts in his soup. It shines through the water like its own brilliant sun. It goes round and round with no beginning and no end. Because a mother's love for a child is always there, warm and soft, broad and tender.

    In this tender story that pairs beautifully poetic words with brilliantly stunning art, a mother's love comes alive on the page and wraps readers in its warm embrace.

    Available for pre-order.





    Some kind words:



    ★ This perfect marriage of illustrations and lyrical writing celebrates the affection that's expressed through a lovingly cooked meal. This lovefest is a feast for all the senses.

    KIRKUS REVIEWS, STARRED REVIEW